RSS Feed

Six Brothers (Gypsy Brothers #2), by Lili St. Germain

20416579

__________________________________________________________

I have lied.

I have cheated.

I have given my body and my life to the man who destroyed my family and left me for dead.

I have killed, I have sinned, and worst of all, I have enjoyed the misery of others.

I have licked the salty tears of a father mourning his firstborn son, and nothing has ever tasted so sweet.

I have died, and I have been resurrected, a phoenix from the ashes.

I know I’m going to hell. I’ll burn in the fiery pits alongside Dornan and his sons for the things I’ve done, and for the things I’m about to do.

But I don’t care. It will be worth every lick of the devils flames on my guilty flesh to destroy Dornan Ross.

One down, six to go.

__________________________________________________________

“It’s true what they say—keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Only, they forgot to add: Don’t keep your enemies so close that they can strike without warning.”

Well that sums this book pretty well, if I must say so myself!

This serie is getting better and better as I read it. Also, it gets even more twisted. But then I guess that’s also why I’m reading it. I would give the same advice that I did for the first book: faint of heart, stay away. For your own sake. If you thought that some of the stuff happening in book one were disturbing, book two brings us to the next level.
Our heroine enjoys the consequences her actions have on her victims and takes even more pleasure in seeing them suffer at her hand than she did at the mere thought of was she had in store for them in book one.

“I lean down, touching my lips to his right cheek. My tastebuds spring to life, assuaged by the sudden taste of salt water. The taste of victory.”

What I really enjoyed in this book was that we got to know more about Juliette and Elliot’s relationship after he saved her, but we also got to know more about our dear dear Jase and how he got tangled in this life that is now his, how betrayed he has been by his own flesh and blood repeatedly and how trapped he is in his own life.

“After all, my heart belonged to someone else. Someone who made my breath catch in my throat. Someone who I had loved so fiercely from the moment I had laid eyes upon him, it had almost hurt. Someone who lit up my entire world, even as he believed that mine had ended at the hands of his family.”

Now, we knew Sammi/Juliette was permanently scarred by what was done to her and that it broke her in more ways than humanly possible. Her drive for revenge is still as strong as before, if not stronger and that’s what keeps her going. But even though she does take pleasure in her killings, things get tougher for her in book two and keep escalating. Dornan, in his grief becomes even crueler and doesn’t think twice before taking it out on Sammi. There were several moments I was physically hurting for her, I wanted to punch him in the face for her, and again, I couldn’t really grasp how she could possibly keep enduring what she does at the hand of this monster, even in the name of revenge. We get even deeper in this book and things keep getting darker as you turn the pages.

“I swallow down my shame, repulsed at myself that I could be aroused at all with this man, let alone when he’s got me tied up with a knife to my skin. It’s all kinds of wrong, and depraved, and I can’t help but wonder what living here with him is doing to my already messed-up head.”

The sex between them IS NOT arousing. AT ALL! I endured it as much as Sammi did and all the while I was making disgusted faces at my kindle. My skin actually crawled once or twice while reading about the stuff she had to do with him. And all the while, you’re also scared for her because Dornan is a complete psycho and in his grief, he’s not getting any better.

“My brain might know that what I’m feeling in fear, but my body mistakes it for excitement. I guess it’s all the same feeling of trembling and frantic heartbeats in the end.”

And through all of this mess, Sammi and Jase’s attraction for one another keeps growing and getting in the way. I ached for Sammi. She in turn feels guilty, afraid and ashamed of what everything she is doing is affecting Jase. And all the while, Jase is getting closer to uncovering Sammi’s secrets and all she can do at this point in the story, is lie through her teeth to him, even though it hurts her just as much as it hurts him.
But, this time around, we do have a little more Sammi/Jase action and this is good my dears. I can’t wait for things to get even more “complicated” between them. I see sparks in their future and I’m going to like those very very much!

“Jase breaks our stare-off and looks away, rubbing his temple. “She was my girl,” he says, and I can feel myself breaking apart inside under the weight of his words. “She was my everything.”

This serie is heading in a serious-mind-fuck direction and I can’t wait for it to happen, even though I wonder how much more fucked up this can possibly become. The bar is already pretty high!

At this point, I can only say that if you started this serie, you should definitely keep reading it. It is seriously good at this point and is really promising. If you haven’t started it because, like me, at first you were not sure you wanted to get into something so blatantly dark, I’d say take a leap of faith. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

