RSS Feed

Seven Sons (Gypsy Brothers #1), by Lili St. Germain

18751827

__________________________________________________________

My father was most certainly NOT an innocent man. As the leader of the Gypsy Brothers MC, he was guilty of many things. But he died for a crime that he didn’t commit, framed by an enemy within who then stole his club and everything he had ever worked to protect.

Including my innocence.

When Dornan Ross framed my father, he set into motion a series of events that could never be undone. My father was murdered by Dornan Ross and his sons when I was fifteen years old.

Before my father died, Dornan Ross and his seven sons stole my innocence, branded my skin and in doing so, ensured that their lives would be prematurely cut short. That they would suffer.

I’ve just turned twenty-one, and I’m out for blood. I’m out for revenge.

But I didn’t expect to fall for Jase, the youngest brother in the club.

I didn’t expect that he would turn my world upside down, yank my heart out of my chest and ride away into the sunset with it.

Now, I’m faced with an impossible choice – Jase, or avenging my fathers death?__________________________________________________________

Okay, so after a synopsis like this one, there is no way you can mistake this book for the fluffy kind. I’m actually having a hard time categorizing this one.

The subject is far from easy my friends. From the start, we are immersed in a world of bikers, crime and violence of many kind. Needless to say, this book is not for the faint of heart. The opening line of the book gives the tone right away.

“Confusius said, “Before embarking upon a journey of revenge, dig two graves.”I planned to dig seven.”

Our heroine, Juliette/Sammi, has waited a long time to get revenge for herself as well as her father against Dornan Ross and his seven sons. Dornan Ross ruined her life because he could and then tried to have her killed. But she survived and the only thing that kept her from losing it even more after what she went through was the prospect that one day, she would make them pay for what they did to her when she was fifteen.

“What was born as fear and grief has long since blossomed into hatred and rage.”

I won’t tell you in details what happens to her because, well it is very well explained in the book, and I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you. But I will tell you this. We don’t go through everything that Sammi went through at the hands of Dornan and his sons. Now, even though we don’t have a play by play of what happened to her, it is made very clear and won’t be easy to read for certain people.

“Today my name is Juliette Portland, but tomorrow I will wake up as someone else entirely. Someone who will bring Dornan Ross and the Gypsy Brothers Motorcycle Club to their knees.”

Sammi has a very dark and tortured personality. The only thing that drives her is her will to kill. From the moment her life is turned upside down when she was fifteen to the moment we see her in the book, she has been preparing her plan to destroy her abusers. She goes through a lot of change to make her plan possible. And then, when she does put her plan in motion, things don’t get brighter for her at first. She has to get close to the person she hates the most and earn their trust, which means she has to do a number of things that, again, some people will find objectionable and offensive. But then again, you don’t pick a book about bikers without expecting some of the stuff that happens in this book.

“Mister Ross,” I say, leaning over the desk so that my tits are inches from his face. “After I fuck you, it won’t matter how well I dance.”

There were times, where I wasn’t sure how to feel about what was happening in the book. I liked Sammi’s character. She was brave and driven and very interesting to read about. She has doubts about her ability to do what she has to do in order to get her revenge and that made her very human in my eyes. But some scenes, and I’m talking about the sexual ones, left me unsure about how I felt. Lili Saint Germain’s writing is very good, and you’re definitely involved in what is happening, but it is who it is happening with that makes those scenes so hard to relate to. While reading them, I kept thinking, “How can she go through this again?”. I wasn’t mad at Sammi for doing what she did, but I’m not sure a lot of people can relate or understand it. It’s strange because in a way, those scenes and descriptions were at the same time titillating and not titillating at all. Quite revolting actually on some occasions.

I really liked Jase’s character. From reading the synopsis, his role in the story and in what happened to Sammi is a little bit confusing, but as you read, you realize he’s not like his father and brothers. His friendship with Sammi was something that I really enjoyed reading about and even though I have my own theories on how things will unfold, I am curious to read more about his and Sammi’s relationship and how it will work with her plans of revenge against his family.

“He’s really tall, well over six foot, and hot to boot. His arms both feature full tattoo sleeves. His face is a study in contradictions. He has the sexiness and spunk of a man, with his large brown eyes, thick, beautifully shaped eyebrows and olive-toned skin. His lips are full and wide, and I think for a split second what they would be like to kiss.”

All in all, I enjoyed this book. It is thought provoking, and will challenge you, but then again, it’s the kind of things I like to find in the books I read. I recommended this book to someone while I was reading it and they loved it too even though it was not exactly the type of books they usually read. So I’d say, give it a chance if you feel brave enough. This book had been seating on my bookshelf for two months before I gave it a try, but only because I was in the mood for lighter things. I am not disappointed that I read it and will read the rest of the serie.

“I’m not finished yet. There are still so many things I have to do.”

Leave a Reply

