RSS Feed

Play (Stage Dive #2), by Kylie Scott

19080006

___________________________________________________________________

Kylie Scott returns with the highly anticipated follow-up to international bestseller Lick.

Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl. Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?___________________________________________________________________

I never know how to review books that make me feel like Play made me feel. But I’m gonna try to write something that makes sense anyway. Before you read this book, I think you should prepare for a whole lot of crazy.

“Anne, my pants itch. I think I’m allergic to them. Come help me take ’em off.”

I’m a sucker for rockstar stories. Olivia Cunning is one of the author that I read the most and I’ve read both the Sinners On Tour serie and the One Night OF Sole Regret serie and I’m most likely going to read her up coming serie about rockstars.

So when I found Play, I was happy to go back to a genre that I know and like very much. I haven’t read Lick even though I’ve heard of it. But Play’s synopsis caught my attention.

“What’s under here?” He toyed with the hem of my sleep shirt.
“You’ve forgotten already?” He dragged my T-shirt over my head and tossed it aside. “Oh, breast. Best present ever. Thanks pumpkin.”

And to be honest, I enjoyed myself reading this book. I really did. From the rockstar shenanigan to the romance in the story to the very memorable characters. This book made me laugh a lot and awww sometimes too. It actually half convinced me to read the previous book in the serie and to give a chance to the up coming on because I’m really curious what will happen to some of the secondary characters.

But I also found myself rolling my eyes for the most part of the book at some of the stuff happening in it because of how crazy things went sometimes. I don’t want to say unrealistic, but I can’t come up with another word just yet.

“The drummer was nuts. He’d always been riding the edge of needing immediate admission to a nice, soft, padded white room. And for a while, it had been kind of charming in an offbeat fashion. But now he’s officially lost all semblance of control.”

Mal Ericson is the reason why so much crazy is going on the book but Anne’s reaction to some of his crazy was just not the reaction anyone would have had. I mean, if a rockstar you’ve only met the day before suddenly opens the door to your own apartment saying he’s your new roommate and boyfriend, how would you react after the initial shock? You try to reason with him? You scream that he’s completely lost his mind? You at least ask for a good explanation of what’s going on in your own apartment? Right? Well apparently, not Anne. She barely argues with our rockstar (granted, it’s hard to argue when you’re facing someone as hyper as Mal Ericson) and pretty much goes along with every crazy ideas he comes up with. So it’s very entertaining and everything but it definitely to learn to go with the flow. But Mal is quite charming and makes you laugh either you want or not so it’s kind of hard to like the book anyway.

“Hello, Anne’s clitoris. It’s me, Malcom, your lord and master.”
“Oh, god, no.” I covered my face with my hands. “Please don’t.”
“Shh. This is a private conversation.”

Anne was an interesting character even though I thought that the book never really delt with her issues: her mother, Reece her best friend and “abuser” as well at times, her ex-roommate, etc…But the fact that she doesn’t really know who she is anymore and miss the person she used to be spoke to me. And it was nice to see her becoming more herself with Mal.

“Years back, before all the shit with mom, I’d been different, braver. Something about Mal reminded me of the adrenaline-junkie tomboy I’d been. I missed that girl. She’d been fun.”

Mal Ericson is one of the things I loved the most about this book. He’s all over the place, never does what you expect him to do, and sometimes it seems like he doesn’t come from and live in the same world as you. But he’s a sweetheart and you love him with all his crazy.  And even though it was weird as all gets out, watching him barging in Anne’s life was so interesting and funny.

“I’m your boyfriend now, which means there’s no room for your hipster admirer. He’ll just have to lick his wounds while we lick other things.”

So except the part where the things that happen in this book don’t seem like it would actually happen in real life and the skimming of issues, well I still liked this book a lot and I’m still tempted to give a chance to the other books in the serie.

Leave a Reply

