RSS Feed

Trust In Me (Wait For You #1.5), by J. Lynn

17860217____________________________________________________

It’s Wait for You as you’ve never seen it. Trust in Me lets you in on Cam’s side of the #1 New York Times bestselling story.

Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life–literally–he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam’s not ready to give up. He can’t get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.

Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery’s life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?

____________________________________________________

I tend to stir clear from this kind of books, because most of the time, it’s just the same book “word for word” but from another character’s POV. I tried it once or twice and ended up a little bored and disappointed because in the end I didn’t get much from it.

“As cocky as this sounds, I knew I could walk onto that campus and get a date with the nearest available girl. Probably even a girl who wasn’t available, but with Avery, it was like trying to hit on a nun. And not a naughty nun.” 

So I’m not sure why I gave Trust In Me a chance, since it’s basically Wait For Me but from Cam’s POV. Then again, if you’ve read book #1, you know Cam’s just the character to make you reconsider your opinion on books like this one.

“Holy shit, Strawberry Shortcake just ran me over.” 

I actually enjoyed myself. I think it had to do with Cam’s voice and inner thought process but it’s a fact. I laughed a lot and I enjoyed being in his head. It’s been a long time since I read a book like Wait For You with only one narrative voice, so it was nice to have Cam’s take on what happens in the story. It was also very enjoyable to me that J. Lynn didn’t always stick perfectly to book #1 with Trust In Me. It wasn’t the exact play by play of what happened in Wait For You and there were a few chapters that where from Cam’s story alone, like when he went home for Thanksgiving with Jase.

I also liked that we were able to “see” more of his friends. Jase is for sure a character I’m looking forward to know more as well as Teresa.

“Holy shit? She said yes? I had to force myself to play cool, because I was about to fist pump the sky or some shit.”

So all in all, I’m quite happy with this book. It wasn’t amazing since I already knew what was happening but I enjoyed reading from Cam’s POV, learning to know more about the amazing guy that he is and to see Avery through his eyes from the start and how he slowly fell in love with her and how good he was with her.

“What is it about her?” he asked, sounding like he truly wanted to understand the attraction I could barely figure out. “She’s not like any other girl you’ve gone out with. She’s fucking awkward as hell and quiet. She’s pretty, but—” 
“She’s fucking beautiful,” I cut in, daring him to disagree. 
He didn’t. “Is she worth this?” 
“Yes,” I said.” 

Leave a Reply

