RSS Feed

Falling Under (Falling #3), by Jasinda Wilder

21458884_____________________________________________

My name is Colton Calloway. You’ve heard part of my story, but it turns out there’s more. My little girl, Kylie, is all grown up. Seventeen, beautiful, and talented, just like her mother. And just like Nell, my daughter seems to have fallen for a bad boy, one with a lot of darkness and a lot of secrets.

*  *  *

You thought you knew the whole story. You thought it was over. Happily ever after for everyone.

You were wrong. 

My name is Oz Hyde, and you’ve never met me. I’m part of the story, too, but I’m an aside, a quick line or two you’d all but forgotten about. Well guess what? I’ve got my own story to tell. 

Buckle up, ‘cause this is gonna be a hell of a bumpy ride.

_____________________________________________

I can’t tell you the state I’m in since I finished that book. I’ve had close to no sleep. I am so happy with this book but at the same time, I can’t help but feel sad that this means this serie is over. Falling Under was the perfect ending to these amazing stories. But still, you get attached to those characters and there is something heartbreaking in knowing that you have to let go of them. It doesn’t happen with every serie but you’ll most likely feel that way if you read this one. I can’t imagine how the author is feeling if I am feeling like that when I only read about her characters. So I’ll try and do my best to review this book the best I can so maybe you’ll be intrigued and give it a try. If you don’t, I seriously doubt your ability to make choices in life though…Just kidding. Well, almost.

One thing that worries me when I see that a book I really loved has a sequel, is that this second or third book won’t be as good as the first one. It’s what I felt about Falling Into Us before starting reading it because I fell so hard for the characters and the story of Falling Into You. I shouldn’t have done that with Falling Into Us and so I didn’t do it with this book. I trusted Jasinda to work her magic once more. And Falling Under is as amazing as the two previous books in the serie. 

“I fell under your spell, Kylie, and ever single day since, I’ve fallen further and further under for you.” 

If I wasn’t yet completely certain that Ms. Wilder is an amazing author, the kind you drop everything you’re doing when you hear that they released a new book, now I am with this serie. She has the ability to break your heart and but it back together with her stories. The Falling serie is one of those that I keep recommending to everybody around me because it is quality stuff. The stories make you feel so much. Jasinda is crazy talented and I trust her blindly with her books. I actually skipped the blurb for the last two books of this serie, I was so sure she’d do something good.

I had two questions unanswered by the end of Falling Into Us. One isn’t very relevant and is more due to my curiosity. But the other, well at first I thought it might have been a mishap on Jasinda’s part. Well I take it back. I should have known better. I won’t say more about it. Only that when you read the book it will blow your mind. That was my reaction when I finally connected the dots: “HOLY SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!! How did I not connect the dots sooner!!!!!!!!! I mean HOLY EFFING SHIT!!!!!!” 

This book was kind of a secret, as most of you know. Jasinda had hinted two weeks ago that she was releasing a book but had kept it at that. No need to say that fans were getting a little crazy with excitement over the mystery around this book. So when I found out that this book would be the conclusion to the Falling serie, I almost fainted. Okay maybe not, but I was definitely giddy with joy and excitement. I truly loved Nell and Colt’s story, and then Becca and Jason’s. Both those stories put my heart through the wringer and made me feel some much. So I could only be happy to be getting more of them.

“You saved me, you know. Life had me running. Had me by the throat, and I really was falling under, losing hope. And then I met you, and you gave me a reason to keep my head above water. You taught me to swim. You taught me to life. And instead of giving up, I fell in love.”

But turns out, Falling Under isn’t really about those amazing characters. At the end of book #2, we learn that Nell and Colt have had a baby girl named Kylie. Well, this story is about her and Oz Hyde. It’s a story about taking chances on people. About a girl taking a chance on a boy who’s all kind of wrong for her on paper and a boy taking a chance on a girl who he thinks he has no right to have. It’a story of two completely different people, coming from completely different worlds, who regardless of their differences decide to love each other anyway. It’s a story about love, friendship, family and about being saved.

“You and I? It may end badly. I may get hurt. But guess what? I don’t care! I’ve never had my heart broken. Maybe I’m fine with risking it, because it’s better than being afraid and going through life bored.”

If you’re afraid to have you’re heart’s emotional safety, don’t be. This book isn’t as emotionally draining as the last two. I ugly cried in both Falling Into You and Falling Into Us. I didn’t with Falling Under. Though I was very close to. But it doesn’t mean that this book is any less beautiful. I was involved just the same, I wanted to be in their world and never leave them. But this book was more gentle with my heart. It surrounded it with warmth.

“She’s all grown up,” Nell says.
“I know.”
“When did that happen?”
I shrug, shake my head. “I don’t know. We blinked, I guess.”

Kylie in this book is all grown up, and since Falling Into You and Us were set in our time, it means this one actually takes place in the future. I’m just mentioning this here but I honestly do it just for the sake of information because I personally didn’t bother me. There is, as usual music in this book, which is part of the serie, and obviously, the author didn’t invent music from the future. That would have been tricky, and probably wouldn’t have served the book right. So in this book, the music and songs mentioned are anachronic. But I liked that she did that anyway because one of the thing that make this serie special, is that you are able to check out the songs and listen to them while reading and in anchors you even more into the story. So yeah. Just so you know. But it didn’t make a blip on my radar. You honestly don’t notice the time gap in my opinion.

“My prerogative as your father is to break the face of anyone who fucks with you. And I will, whether you like it or not. So if our boy Oz prefers to have his face in one piece, he’ll treat you like the precious thing you are.”

I loved Kylie. She was great. I mean, with parents such as Nell and Colt, how could she not be? She’s smart, funny, curious, crazy talented, very much independent. I loved that Nell and Colt raised her to be her own person and gave her the freedom to be independent and to have her own mind. And she’s a good girl. She’s about to be eighteen and a few month away from graduation when she meets Oz Hyde.

“That lifestyle? It’s bad, Kylie. I don’t want you anywhere near that. It’s dark, and it’s dangerous, and it can suck you under so fast. So fast.” 

Oz. Hm so much to say about him. He is the only character we don’t know from the previous books, and you’ll have to read this book to find out who he is since it’s part of the mystery of the book. All you need to know about Oz is that he is a sexy, cocky, guitar playing, motorbike riding, pot smoking, long haired, tattooed bad-boy from the wrong side of town. He has been through a lot, has been hardened by life, has a history of violence, has self harm issues, has no prospects and doesn’t believe in himself. So in short, he is the complete opposite of what Nell and Colt have raised Kylie to be.

“If I amount to anything it’ll be as part of a band. That’s it. I’ll be playing dive bars and shitty clubs, and I’ll get high in the alleys and do lines in the bathrooms, and eventually I’ll OD and that’ll be that.” I glance ad her. “Is that the life you want?”

Except, all that he is is what Colt used to be. Young, troubled and rebelled. So yes he’s come a long way since. Now he is a successful musician and producer, has a big, beautiful house, his beautiful wife and daughter, fancy cars and bikes in his garage….but he used to be in Oz shoes. And he (and we) see so much of himself in Oz. So if you loved Colton’s bad-boy ways, I’m pretty sure you’ll love Oz just as much. I know I did.

“Everybody knows girls like the bad boys, and I’m thoroughly bad.”

And speaking of Mr. Calloway. His as a Daddy was just….I don’t even have words for it. Is it possible to love this man any more? Yes. Yes it is. He’s a wonderful father. He’s caring, sweet, protective yet reasonable. And oh so sexy. I’m telling you ladies, the charm is still going on eighteen years later and just as effective. *fan-self*

“What the hell do I know about teenage girls and their social lives? Jack shit, that’s what.”

One thing I loved about this book was the alternate POV. You’d expect it to be Kylie and Oz’s since this book is their story. But here it’s Oz and Colt’s POV that are alternating and it was amazing. It gave so much insight and allowed us to see more of Colt and Nell’s story and relationship, for one but also gave us a more mature perspective on the story, even though a little bit removed at times. Reading about Nell and Colt trying to do the right thing as parents was great. I loved this aspect of the book and it gave the story something more.

“We can’t protect her from life, Nell. You know that. She’s going to get hurt someday. All we can do is love her, and be there when it happens.”

As for the steamy parts, I’m not even sure I need to say something about it at this point. I feel like I repeat myself most of the time 🙂 The combination of Kylie who’s still a virgin and innocent and Oz who has had plenty of experience was just lethal. Like seriously hot. I actually blushed. Again. It’s starting to become a pattern with Ms. Wilder’s books.  Just trust Jasinda to write super hot scenes that are at the same time very very emotional and moving. 

“This moment, here with Kylie Calloway, it’s the single best moment of my life.”

The end did a number on me too. It broke my heart but also send it soaring. It was the perfect ending to an amazing serie.  I think you’ll be pleased to know that Ben (Becca and Jason’s son) is very much present in this book. He even get’s a chapter in the book near the end, as does Kylie. I won’t say more about it because it was just ruin it for you, except that this chapter truly broke my heart. I wonder if Ben will have his own story. I know I’ll keep and eye out for it.

tumblr_mqb94jqILK1symxj4o1_500

I can’t recommend this book and this serie enough. I honestly can’t. If you haven’t read them, you’re already seriously missing out. There’s a point where words are just not enough to describe how you fell. I’m often brought to this point when it comes to Jasinda’s books. All I can say is that those stories are now part of me, that I often go back to the memories I have of them. This was an amazing ride. This serie is beyond beautiful and I’m sure it will become a part of you as well.

“You light up the blackness that has been my life, and I don’t know how to ever be the kind of man you need and deserve, but I want to try. For you, for me, and for us. For the possibility of us.” 

Also, this book comes with an exerpt for Jasinda’s new book Alpha. I’ll just say this, I can’t wait for April to be here already!

_________________________________________________________

049-680x1024

Jasinda Wilder is a Michigan native with a penchant for titillating tales about sexy men and strong women. When she’s not writing, she’s probably shopping, baking, or reading.

www.jasindawilder.com

Email Jasinda at JasindaWilder@gmail.com

____________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

