RSS Feed

Falling Into Us (Falling #2), by Jasinda Wilder

17700010_____________________________________________

THE STORY YOU THOUGHT YOU KNEW…

When Kyle Calloway died, he took a part of Nell with him. She wasn’t the only one left to pick up the pieces, however; Kyle’s death left a gaping hole in the hearts and lives of his parents and his older brother Colton, and ultimately broke the will of the girl he loved.

THE STORY YOU NEVER IMAGINED…

Becca de Rosa is Nell’s best friend. When Kyle died, Nell was so devastated that no one could reach her, not even her best friend Becca. As she tries to help Nell through her grief, Becca’s own life is thrust into turmoil, and everything she knows is changed.

Jason Dorsey asked Nell out the week after her sixteenth birthday, but that date never happened. Instead, he ended up going out with Nell’s best friend, Becca. He had no way of knowing, then, how that one date would send him on a life-long journey with Becca. He had no way of knowing the tragedies and triumphs he would experience, or that in Becca, he might find the love of a lifetime.

THE HEARTACHE YOU’LL NEVER FORGET…

_____________________________________________

Wow! She did it again. Jasinda blew my mind again with her story.

I’m actually a little mad at myself for not reading this book when I first got it. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf since this summer, and I have no clue as to why I didn’t read it sooner.

After reading Falling Into You, I was sooo stoked to know there was a second book! But then, I loved Nell, Kyle and Colton’s story so much, I think I might have been scared in a way to read more about them and not be as satisfied as I was with them by the end of book #1. Also, my heart had been put through the wringer with that first book and I was kind of worried book #2 would do the same. So I guess I have an answer as to why I didn’t start it right away. Also when I started Falling Into Us, I was a bit confused to read from Jason’s point of view back when Kyle and Nell were in high school (you see, I hadn’t read the blurb before buying the book). It’s only when I was halfway through chapter one that I read the blurb and found out that this book was about Becca (Nell’s best friend) and Jason (Kyle’s best friend). I know, I’m a dumb-ass sometimes.

This story is so beautiful and yet so tragic. I mean, Jasinda did a number on me with this book. Again. My heart was put through the wringer. Again. It swelled, and then it broke, then it shattered and it was eventually put back together. The least I can say about this book is that it’ll make you feel a lot. I think I went through the whole scale of emotions.

“If you feel yourself falling, let it happen. I swear to you I’ll catch you.” 

I loved loved loved this book. In a way, this book isn’t your usual romance novel. What you usually get are characters dealing with problems inside their relationship. Some readers might be a bit disappointed with that but I wasn’t. This book doesn’t deal with the problems inside a relationship but with the problems outside of it, and the relationship is the safe harbor full of love, security and tenderness that two people find in each other. So instead of growing apart, their love for each other grow stronger. I loved that about this book.

“Promise me you’ll love me forever. No matter what”
“I can’t promise you forever, Back. I can’t promise you forever, because that’s not long enough”

So like I said, this book is about Jason, who we were introduced to in Falling Into You when he asked Nell out on a date. By doing that, he makes Nell and Kyle finally get together. So Jason finds himself without a date. That’s when Nell suggests he asks her best friend Becca, who’s had a crush on Jason since 4th grade, on a date. And even though Becca is not thrilled to be the second best for the date, she goes out with him anyway. And from there, their relationship blossoms and keeps on growing.

“I’m funny all the time. You just never knew until now.”

And so, in Falling Into Us, we follow Jason and Becca’s story throughout their life together. The book deals with Kyle’s death, it’s effects on Becca and Jason. It also deals with Becca witnessing Nell lose herself to grief and pain, and not being able to help her because Nell doesn’t want to be helped. This part really moved me. I felt so much for Nell because I knew where she came from with Falling Into You but also for Becca for feeling helpless and unable to do anything to help someone she loves. We are also introduced to some new characters that have a huge impact on Becca and Jason’s lives such as Ben, Becca’s brother, her parents as well and Jason’s abusive father.

“The only way past the pain is through it. Pain, grief, anger, misery…they don’t go away–they just increase and compound and get worse. You have to live through them, acknowledge them. You have to give your pain its due.” 

Jason and Becca’s relationship and love was sooo strong. I loved that they always found peace, strength and love in each other instead of growing apart because of what life puts them through. It doesn’t mean that everything in their relationship is easy. They have their ups and downs like any other couple. But they are just so strong and secure in their relationship. They’re probably the strongest book couple I’ve read about ever. And I loved that they stuck together no matter what, even when one of them got lost. They go through everything together and are each other’s first everything as well. First kiss, first love, first time and the whole thing was just so sweet.

I loved Becca. She was amazing. She suffers from a stutter that she finds very embarrassing but that I personally, and everybody else it seems, found very cute. She is super smart, but shy and insecure about herself because of her stutter but also her body. I loved seeing her grow from a shy, insecure girl into a confident, strong, giving, beautiful woman because and with Jason.

“That’s me
The silent girl
The stutterer
The prisoner
The smart girl
The valedictorian scribbling maledictions to no one” 

And talking about Jason, I love this man!!!!! He was perfection made man….fictional man. Well you get my point. Seriously, he never did anything wrong once in this book. He has his demons and everything, but he always did good by Becca, always put her first in everything, financially, emotionally, physically, sexually. His love for her was so fierce and beautiful and true. He protects her, looks after her, cares for her. He was perfect for her and he loved Becca with all his being. I wish their were more men like Jason Dorsey out there.

“My motivation in life was to be a good enough man for her, worthy of her awesomeness.” 

Even though this book is incredibly sweet it is also an emotional roller-coaster. There is a lot of deaths, grief and trauma. The characters aren’t spared anything. And throughout all the heartache, Becca and Jason are there for each other, supporting each other.

“It was the only time Dad was anything like helpful. He told me you have to forget what they look like. Otherwise, you can’t learn to live without them. Forgetting is your brain’s way of telling you it’s time to try and move on. Not forget who they were, just…keep living.” 

And in between all the heartache, tragedy and sweetness, there’s the sex. If you’ve read Falling Into You or any other book by Jasinda, then you know that she is also amazing when it comes to writing toe-curling, fan-yourself sex scenes. And let’s just say that when Becca and Jason get together, things get hot very quickly. I might even have blushed a little. Which is not something I do often. And the non-sex scenes were just as good. Keep an eye out for the scene in Jason’s truck after the winter formal. It was naive and sweet yet unbelievably hot. And as they grow up and grow in their relationship, they become more familiar with each other and start to explore, the sex gets better and better. More adventurous, exciting and daring.

“I just… I always want more of you. I feel greedy, in a way. I just want to kiss you more, and touch you more. Like you said, it’s dangerous. I feel like you’re a drug, and I’m getting addicted to you.” 

And there was a nice change in this book. For once, our heroine is the one in charge in the bedroom. That is not something that is usually my thing. I like my hero to be in charge. I love all the controlling, dominant sex-hungry alpha-male book boyfriends I read about. But it was nice to read about a girl who liked to take charge and a hero that would let her do just that and still be very very sexy. It was a nice change to read about Jason and Becca that way. I loved that his love for her was so strong, that he let her take the lead, take what she wants from him and not idly wait for him to give it to her and that he liked it. And it never made him less of a man or less attractive, quite the opposite actually. Jason is just so strong, physically and emotionally and he is so secure in his sexuality, himself and his relationship that it never felt off, or not sexy. It simply worked. He gave her so much and she gave just as much. Jason was just so manly and yet tender. I can’t find the right way to say what I want to describe this part of their relationship (which is very frustrating) but I think you get the picture. It was simply very, very hot.

“I’m thoroughly addicted to you, Becca. If I don’t get a regular fix of your body, I might go into withdrawal.”

Jasinda is wonderful when it comes to writing stories that are emotional and heart warming and yet so very hot and emotionally deep. She is such a wonderful and so talented writer. I force feed her books to everyone around me and have already offered her books to three different persons because I was so stoked about them. She just makes you feel SO. MUCH. Like I said, I went through the whole emotional scale: sad, happy, distraught, heartbroken, desperate, excited, turned on…

If you’re worried about Nell and Colt’s lack of presence in the book, don’t be. Yes the book is about Becca and Jason, but their story follows the same timeline as Falling Into You and it deals with a lot of the same things. But it doesn’t stop where book #1 did and so we can see more of Nell and Colt’s story and some of the scenes will melt your heart even more. The last two chapters of the book were wonderful and so satisfying. I loved reading more about Nell and Colt from Becca and Jason’s POV but even though I loved Nell and Colt’s story, I was very content with the story as it was and didn’t need them as much as I though I would.

“Here’s the deal, though. Real men watch girly shit with their wives, and they don’t bitch about it. Because you know what? When you’re done watching that girly shit, your woman is happy. And what do happy women do? They take you to bed and bang your brains out.”

And once again, this book is full of music and poetry. I love it when authors include music and a soundtrack to their book. It just gives it a little something more and it really intensifies the story. In a way, it makes you be more engaged in the story. I loved Becca’s poetry and Nell and Colt’s music. I listened to each song given in the book and they fit perfectly the story.

“Being in love is scary
So much like falling
A frightening descent into
Beautiful madness
Yes, you and we
We’re 
Falling into Us
And I don’t dare stop the fall
Because I need it far too much”

Jasinda is one of those authors you trust blindly. Whenever they publish a book, you know you’re going to read it, without even looking at the blurb, the cover, the comments, etc….She’s that good. I mean, that’s pretty much what I did with this book, so I guess it’s proof enough. Now I’m off to Falling Under! Hi hi!

Leave a Reply

