RSS Feed

Sudden Response (EMS #1), by R. L. Mathewson

20512384_____________________________________________

Josephine (Joe for short) and Eric, the EMT crew of Echo 17 have been best friends since they were eight years old. They’ve been through a lot together over the years, but nothing like what they’re about to experience.

As the only man in Joe’s life it’s Eric’s job to be there for her and take care of her even while he drives her crazy, especially if he’s driving her crazy. There’s nothing he wouldn’t do for her and when things go south he decides that maybe it’s time that Joe moved on, but could he?_____________________________________________

I just finished this one and once again, R.L. Mathewson won my heart over.

Well I didn’t like it as much as the Neighbors From Hell serie, but Eric and Joe were also very funny in their banter and teasing habits as were the different characters for the NFH serie.

“That better not be what I think it is,” Joe mumbled in the dark.
It was. “It’s not. Jeez, woman, someone’s paranoid. It’s my pocket light,” he said, wincing. Ah, he was only human after all. It wasn’t the first time she got him hard nor would it be the last time. The physical discomfort was a small price to pay to have her in his arms.
“Well, then your flashlight is growing. Jeez, Eric, put a leash on that thing before it stabs me!” she teased.
“But it likes you,” he pouted

Sudden Response was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted to read something funny, fluffy, light and sweet and that would make me giddy and as always with R. L. Mathewson’s books, I had just that. I’m a sucker for stories about friends falling for each other, so this book started off very well for me.

“All I care about is that this doesn’t change anything, Eric. I don’t want to lose you.”
He gently cupped her cheek, brushing her swollen lips with his thumb. “You’ll never lose me, Joe.”

I really liked the universe of this story and the EMS atmosphere. It was very interesting to be immersed into this universe and to witness how it works and the different jobs that there are in this line of work.

Eric’s character is very nice. You like him pretty much right away. At some point, his protectiveness of Joe got a little too much and you kind of wanted to tell him to leave her be, but you understand where he comes from. Joe’s character I liked very much. I loved that she was tough enough to work in such an environment and be respected by all the (macho?) men she works with. She doesn’t take shit from anyone and gives as much as she gets, especially when it comes to Eric.

As always, the sex was hot, hot, hot and I really enjoyed the build up in Eric and Joe’s relationship, and I particularly enjoyed the epilogue.

I won’t lie though, this story will probably not be one that I’ll remember in a few years. But it was definitely a good, nice, enjoyable read that made me laugh and smile and that I would gladly recommend to readers that liked other books by R.L. Mathewson.

“I am so sorry, Joe,” he whispered, gently pushing her hair away from her face and neck. “I know I keep fucking up,” he said, pressing a kiss to her neck, “and that by all rights you should bitch slap me, but I can’t stand the idea of you getting hurt.”
His hand found its way to her panty clad hip and gave her a gentle squeeze. “It kills me to think of what could have happened that night, Joe,” he explained softly as he pressed another kiss to her neck. “Do you have any idea how lost I would be without you?”
“You’re my entire world, Joe,” he said, pressing another kiss to her neck, this time lingering. “I don’t know what I’d do without,” he said against her skin.”

Leave a Reply

