RSS Feed

Wallbanger (Cocktail #1), by Alice Clayton

15858248_____________________________________________

The first night after Caroline moves into her fantastic new San Francisco apartment, she realizes she’s gaining an intimate knowledge of her new neighbor’s nocturnal adventures. Thanks to paper-thin walls and the guy’s athletic prowess, she can hear not just his bed banging against the wall but the ecstatic response of what seems (as loud night after loud night goes by) like an endless parade of women. And since Caroline is currently on a self-imposed dating hiatus, and her neighbor is clearly lethally attractive to women, she finds her fantasies keep her awake even longer than the noise. So when the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts Simon Parker, her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. The tension between them is as thick as the walls are thin, and the results just as mixed. Suddenly, Caroline is finding she may have discovered a whole new definition of neighborly…

In a delicious mix of silly and steamy, Alice Clayton dishes out a hot and hilarious tale of exasperation at first sight…

_____________________________________________

Okay so this book made it to the must-read, all-time-favorite, complete-genius and highly-recommended list!

The cover was very promising. I wasn’t expecting much from this book. Just a nice, light story about a girl looking for her O and with a wall-banging, sex machine, swoon-worthy neighbor. In the end, this book turned out to be one of those book that sticks with you for a very long time.

I absolutely loved every single minute of it. It was witty, funny, sexy, streamy, lovely, sweet, swoony, well you get the picture! Absolutely great!

It is full of funny one-liners and banter and humor and so many things that I need to stop now or I might just write a list of adjectives to describe how great this book is.

I loved Caroline (Pink Nightie Girl) and Simon (Mr. Wallbanger) and Clive! Oh my God, this cat is the best fictional cat ever!

I woke up my roommate one night I was laughing so hard while reading! I couldn’t stop smiling and giggling, and yes squealing. This book will make you happy and smile. I swear I had a stupid grin stuck on my face for so long (while and) after reading it.

I loved every characters in the story. Caroline and her friends were very very funny, and I wanted to be friends with them too. I wanted to meet a group of men like Simon, Neil and Ryan. I want a cat like Clive soooo much!

Because of Alice Clayton’s writing style and one-liners, people shot strange looks at me because I couldn’t control the giggling, snorting and chuckling while reading in public.

I loved Alice Clayton’s style and writing. Full of wit and humor! And I really loved the presence of Brain, Heart, Nerves, Backbone, and of course, O as actual characters.
And I loved the texting! That was such a brilliant idea! Gave a lot of insight (especially the group texts). And again, oh. So. Funny!

You done with work?
Yep, at home waiting for you.
Now that’s a nice visual…
Prepare yourself, I’m taking bread out of the oven.
Don’t tease me woman…zucchini?
Cranberry orange. Mmmm…
No woman has ever done breakfast bread foreplay the way you do.
Ha! When you coming?
Can’t. Drive. Straight.
Can we have one conversation when you’re not twelve?
Sorry, I’ll be there in 30
Perfect, that will give me time to frost my buns.
Pardon me?
Oh, didn’t I tell you? I also made cinnamon rolls.
Be there in 25. 

And God! Simon is so HOT it should be illegal!!! He made me swoon! And Caroline’s description of him in the book when they first meet made me swoon (even more) as well! Well swoon and a little more too….

Beneath the sheet – which was already lower on his hips than should be legal – 
He.
Was.
Still.
Hard. 

See what I mean now? And that’s just the start.

859624

But he was also very sweet with Caroline and I loved the building of their relationship. It builds up gradually and very naturally and is always believable. I loved the scary movie scene, the pie-backing debacle, the water pipes catastrophe, the nicknames, and well, all the other stuff too.

“He was wooing me. And I was letting him woo. I wanted the woo. I deserved the woo. I needed the wow that would surely follow the woo, but for now, the woo? It was whoa.”

 Anyway, I’ll stop with the gushing now. One last thing before I go though:

READ THIS BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AMAZON.FR                                               AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

