RSS Feed

Silence (Hush, Hush #3), by Becca Fitzpatrick

10637766______________________________________________

WHEN SILENCE IS ALL THAT’S LEFT, CAN THE TRUTH FINALLY BE HEARD?

Nora Grey can’t remember the past five months of her life. After the initial shock of waking up in a cemetery and being told that she has been missing for weeks – with no one knowing where she was or who she was with – she tried to get her life back on track. Go to school, hang out with her best friend, Vee, and dodge mom’s creepy new boyfriend.

But there is this voice in the back of her head, an idea that she can almost reach out and touch. Visions of angel wings and unearthly creatures that have nothing to do with the life she knows.

And this unshakable feeling that a part of her is missing.

Then Nora crosses paths with a sexy stranger, whom she feels a mesmerizing connection to. He seems to hold all the answers…and her heart. Every minute she spends with him grows more and more intense until she realizes she could be falling in love. Again.

_____________________________________________

I had a much better overall feeling after reading Silence.

At the end of Crescendo, I felt a little frustrated with the book even though I liked it and really liked the final twist. Silence made me fall in love again with the serie. I was able to find the Nora from book 1 and what happens in this book was completely unexpected.

“I need to brush my teeth. And I need a shower.”
He grinned, hopping off the bike. “Now that is an invitation.”

What I liked with this book was that the story picks up speed from the start. It grabs you and never let’s go until the end. I really wasn’t expecting a start like the one at the beginning of Silence, and needless to say, I was hooked. 

“Since we’re keeping it primal, you smell good,” he observed.

“It’s called a shower…,” I began automatically, then trailed off. My memory snagged, taken aback by a compelling and forceful sense of undue familiarity. “Soap, shampoo, hot water,” I added, almost as an afterthought.

“Naked. I know the drill,” Jev said, something unreadable passing over his eyes.” 

Nora in this book is a lot more likable than she was in Crescendo. Then was very insecure about a lot of stuff, very jealous, made tones of bad choices and almost never learned from her mistakes. In this book, she is more mature, courageous and I really was able to see the Nora from Hush, Hush again and was happy to follow her story. 

What I was also very happy about with this book was Patch. He was a lot more present in book 3 compared to Crescendo and I was able to fall in love with him all over again in Silence. The fact that Nora doesn’t remember the past five months of her life gives her relationship with Patch sort of a “new start” and so, we have once more some of Patch and Nora’s antics and banter from book 1, which I very much liked. Patch character is once again quite perfect. He’s really one of the few characters that never disappoint me in this serie.

“Fine! I’ll throw on some clothes. Turn around. I’m in my pj’s”
“I’m a guy. That’s like asking a kid not to glance at the candy counter.” 

This book really had everything I liked about this serie and I happily dived in it. The book is never slow and you go from one surprise to the other, to one revelation to the next and the ending doesn’t disappoint either. I know it left me begging to know what was coming next. 

“Hate to disappoint, but no feathers. I came to Earth stripped naked.” 

AMAZON.FR                                           AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

