RSS Feed

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1), by Becca Fitzpatrick

6339664_____________________________________________

A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

_____________________________________________

Okay, just a bit of a warning before I start. This review and the ones following the books of this serie will be a bit of a challenge for me since I just finished the serie today and I started it years ago. In between, the books I read have very much changed in style. Plus some parts of the books are not as fresh as they could be. So bear with me.

I read Hush, Hush my first year of college, which to be a little more specific, was 5 long years ago. It’s safe to say that I have read a lot since then.

But still, in the case of Hush, Hush, I remember very well the story since I read it three time in a row (yes, back to back reading. That should be proof enough that I truly loved this book.), and two more times since then. It’s probably the book I’ve read the most with The Host by Stephenie Meyer. But I’m straying from the main subject here.

Hush, Hush is relatively light on paranormal activity in the first book. Except for the first two pages and the end of the book, the story stays almost clear of it. It feels more like a thriller where you follow an investigation that turns out to be a paranormal one. If I make any sense.

Angels have been a subject that I really appreciate in books. Hush, Hush is the second serie that I read that talks about it and it was brilliantly done.

The story in this installment of the serie is a bit ordinary in regard to the other books. I know it’s probably not a good word to use but my brain is kind of fried right now and it’s the only one I can think of. What I mean is that this book is like an introduction to the real story. We meet the characters, Patch and Nora as well as most of the characters that will remain in the serie. It is the beginning of Patch and Nora’s love story. And it is also the beginning of the story in itself but it’s really just the very tip of the iceberg that is Hush, Hush.

“You possess other people’s…bodies.”

He accepted that statement with a nod.

“Do you want to possess my body?”

“I want to do a lot of things to your body, but that’s not one of them.” 

Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty of action in this book. One thing I learned from reading Becca Fitzpatrick’s books is that she usually keeps the biggest twists and surprises for the end. Which means you should expect cliff-hangers throughout the serie, but not in this one. Of course, everything is not sloved by this end of this book, but if after reading book one you think you’ve had enough, in my opinion, it can be read as a standalone. But having read the serie, you’d be missing out. Just sayin’.

What I like about those books and Hush, Hush, is that you don’t really know what is happening until the end. The book is filled of mysteries, suspense and questions that just makes you want to read more. I read this book in one seating (the first time).

I really liked the atmosphere of the book, the relationship between Patch and Nora and how they get together. Patch is a bad boy that look like trouble. He is dark, dangerous, provocative, looks scary and is utterly irresistible and very charismatic. It’s not everyday that you have this kind of characters in books. You know he can (is) dangerous but you are still attracted to him.

“He was the worst kind of wrong. He was so wrong it felt right, and that made me feel completely out of control.” 

I loved him from the moment he appeared in the book. I’d have to re-reread the book to pin point exactly what made me love him so much from the start. He was just the right amount of flirty, teasing, dangerous, arrogant and sweet.

“Call me Patch. I mean it. Call me.” 

Nora is his complete opposite. She the ultimate good girl. She’s not shy or reserved, but she keeps to herself, has her one best friend Vee (that I adored too) and they both have big personalities. I loved them both a lot even though Nora could be very irritating at time because of her stubbornness.

“Patch wasn’t the kind of guy mothers smiled on. He was the kind of guy they changed the house locks for.” 

Anyway, in short, Patch and Nora were both great characters. In the first book, I think it’s Patch that will keep you going when the story gets a little slow. I was very much looking forward to his appearances in the book and the moments between him and Nora, which were most of the time very funny due to his killer one-liners and provocative come backs.

“Part of me wanted to run away from him screaming, Fire! A more reckless part was tempted to see how close I could get without… combusting.” 

The come backs and the banter between the characters (Patch, Nora and Vee) were one of the things I loved the most in this book.

I really recommend this book. Even my reading style has evolved, it’s a book I would happily go back to and enjoy all the same. This first book doesn’t get old and will certainly suck you in from the start.

“You smell good, too,” said Patch

It’s called a shower.” I was staring straight ahead. When he didn’t answer, I turned sideways. “Soap. Shampoo. Hot water.”

Naked. I know the drill.” 

AMAZON.FR                                             AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

