RSS Feed

Crescendo (Hush, Hush #2), by Becca Fitzpatrick

7791997

_____________________________________________

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. A mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever (if that’s possible) and what’s worse, he seems to be spending time with Nora’s archenemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadn’t been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude, Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feelings that he is hiding something.

If that weren’t enough, Nora is haunted by images of her murdered father, and comes to question whether her Nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death. Desperate to figure out what happened, she puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations to get the answer. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

_____________________________________________

I think an accurate word to describe this book is roller-coaster. At least that’s how I felt while reading.

I found this book a bit frustrating for different reasons.

First, and a little bit like Hush, Hush, the first part of the book is a bit slow. It lays the foundations of the story and puts things in place for later, which as a result, makes it lack action. Later on in the book the story picks up speed to reach its climax at the end, which once again, leaves us with a lot of details and information to take in and digest all at once. So when you reach the last pages, you feel a bit exhausted, like you just ran a marathon.

“He’s got the whole bad-boy-in-need-of-redemption thing going on, but the catch is, most bad boys don’t want redemption. They like being bad. They like the power they get from striking fear and panic into the hearts of mothers everywhere”

This book is also frustrating because of its ending that has the mother of all cliffhangers, and it leaves you, well, hanging. It’s obvious that it is a deliberate choice in order to prepare the ground for book three and to make us readers want to read more. It totally worked for me and I closed the book cursing like a sailor for having to wait for book three to know what would happen next.

But what had me cursing the most was that my favorite character was barely there throughout the book. I missed Patch sooooooooo much in this book it wasn’t even funny. I will be honest here, even though it’s pretty much clear, but I have a huge crush on Patch’s character and he is the main reason why I read those books. And let’s face it, it’s the case for all of you out there 😉 He bring the spice to our Hush, Hush salsa. And unfortunately, he is a lot less present in this book than he was in Hush, Hush. I was constantly looking forward to his too small appearances throughout the book and like Nora, my heart raced every time he appeared.

“Being with you never felt wrong. It’s the one thing I did right. You’re the one thing I did right.”

Nora was particularly irritating in the first part of the book. There were moments I really had a hard time with her and wanted to slap some sense into her. She complained a lot, was always doubting herself and others, and she kept on making bad decisions after the other, without ever learning from her mistakes. Actually, she was bent on being stubborn and doing the same stupid mistakes again and again. She was so freaking pig-headed! If Im being fair, she reacted like you expect a teenager to: she was jealous, lacked self-confidence at times, overreacted which is not strange for a teenager and I guess you can’t really blame her for that but since I wasn’t a teenager when I read this book,  maybe that’s why I couldn’t relate. Thank God, she gets better, more mature and is more bearable by the end . She was even touching in her persistance in finding out what really happened to her father as well as how she faced all that was happening to her and changing her life.

“The only thing a boyfriend was good for was a shattered heart.” 

The beginning of this book is a little confusing, or at least it keeps you a little bit in the dark, quite like Hush, Hush. Through Nora’s eyes, we witness strange things happen but we can never really connect the dots until the end. I often had a hard time knowing what to do with the information given and like Nora, I found myself not knowing who to trust, who believe or not. If I were in Nora’s shoes, I think I’d have gone crazy very fast.

We learn some things in this book, and get answers to questions from book one, but it’s a short reprieve because as soon as you get those answers, you are swarmed with new questions and you are forced to wait for book three to clarify the whole mess.

“Did I really want to stay on this road longer, knowing it was only going to end in devastation?” 

Crescendo is a lot darker than Hush, Hush was. It is interesting and intriguing but there is a lot more drama, Nora’s mood throughout the book is, well dark to say the least and you basically feel like everything is crumbling around her. It doesn’t mean that it’s depressing. Thank God for Vee and her never dying humor. The book wouldn’t be the same without her. We get to meet new characters in this book such as Scott that will probably make you feel murderous at times but give him a chance, he’s got a lot in store for you.

This book is far from boring or peaceful. It will put you through the wringer. Be prepared to feel the following: sadness, joy, anger, jealousy, fear, doubts, etc… Like I said, it is a roller-coaster read, emotionally and because of how the story is constructed. The beginning is slow and prepares the ground for what’s ahead, a good dose of drama and terrifying events as well as slower moments where you gets to breathe and take stock, and the big finish with all the revelations and the cliffhanger.

Even though it’s not my favorite book of the serie, I still really liked it. It sucked me in just the same, kept me turning the pages frantically to learn more and totally floored me with the ending and the twists, which I wasn’t expecting at all and left me wanting for more. Which is why you my dears, are very lucky, because unlike me who had to wait almost a year to find out the rest of the story, you can immediately start book three of the serie, Silence.

“If I missed out on some really big action, I’m going to be royally pissed off!” 

AMAZON.FR                                                AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

