RSS Feed

Own The Wind (Chaos #1), by Kristen Ashley

16163690____________________________________________

Too hot to handle…

Tabitha Allen grew up in the thick of Chaos–the Chaos Motorcycle Club, that is. Her father is Chaos’ leader, and the club has always had her back. But one rider was different from the start. When Tabby was running wild, Shy Cage was there. When tragedy tore her life apart, he helped her piece it back together. And now, Tabby’s thinking about much more than friendship…

Tabby is everything Shy’s ever wanted, but everything he thinks he can’t have. She’s beautiful, smart, and as his friend’s daughter, untouchable. Shy never expected more than friendship, so when Tabby indicates she wants more–much more–he feels like the luckiest man alive. But even lucky men can crash and burn..

____________________________________________

I’m kind about sad about what I’m going to write but I said I would be honest in my reviewing of books so here goes.

I’m a sucker for biker stories. Madeline Sheehan and Joanna Wylde’s books were my first tries and I loved their stories. So obviously, I was really looking forward to read this book. I’d heard and read plenty of great reviews about it and everywhere I look, I see people saying Kristen Ashley is one of the best authors ever.

Usually, before I pick a book, I go over some of the reviews (and here they were all good) and then I go over some quotes from the book if there are some. In the case of Own The Wind, the quotes were very promising too.

“He stalked toward her.
“Bedroom,” he growled.
“Take your clothes off on the way”.

I mean, this kind of quotes have got to at least make you a little bit curious!

Then, when I read it, it really had all the good stuff I like about biker stories:

  • an MC family,
  • a kick-ass heroine,
  • a bad-ass biker hero,
  • the plot had twists that I didn’t expect.
  • I liked the relationship between Shy and Tabby and how it evolved.
  • I liked that Shy was not perfect and that Tabby didn’t let him walk all over her…

Well, you get the picture. It had all the good elements to make a great story, and for most people it did….but not for me. I’m very annoyed about that.

I didn’t feel a connection to the characters. I liked them, but it wasn’t love at first sight for me. Shy was your regular bad-ass biker. He can be tender and loving but he is a biker at heart and even his love for Tabby can’t change that. Which was okay here because Tabby was completely able to handle it. Everything made sense between them but still, I couldn’t connect with them.

Same thing with the story. It was original, had some very surprising twists, it didn’t feel rushed or fake or anything. But for some reason it just left me cold. I think that’s what I missed in this book, or what was lacking for me. It didn’t make my heart race. I read the words, but didn’t feel them or live them. While reading, I found myself thinking about what I had to do when I left work,  or making plans for the evening. The story didn’t suck me in like I expected it to.

And it wasn’t for lack of trying either. It’s very rare that I give up on a book the moment I realize I might not like it. Unless the book is really bad, I’ll at least try and finish it, even though, in the end, the book isn’t one I’ll like. So I tried with this book too. I tried to free long periods of time to be sure I wouldn’t be interrupted while reading. I tried re-reading the moments where I had zoned-out. I tried reading another book then coming back to this one, but nothing did it.

Well, not nothing now that I think of it. The sex was pretty amazing! There were some seriously, amazingly hot sex scenes in this book. But then Kristen Ashley is known for her more than good sex scenes, her hot, panty-dropping, alpha-male heros and kick-ass heroines.

“I have never, not once, not in my life, made love to any woman. Not once. Not until what I just did with you.”

Just to make sure I made my point about the men in her stories, they are always, and I mean always super hot, bossy, possessive and dominant but with big loving hearts too. And once they find the right girl, they sure have a serious sense of commitment.

“I had a taste four years ago that I could never get off my tongue. Now, I’ve tasted more of you with more than just my mouth and I know I wanna keep it in a way I don’t want to think of it bein’ done. Not in a few weeks. Not in a few months. Maybe not ever.”

Like I said, I’m a little sad to be writing this review because I had high hopes for this story (and maybe I still do) but what can I say. It just didn’t work for me. 

Now that I’ve said that (sorry, I wasn’t exactly brief about it :s) I think it’s important to say that, if you are interested in this book, you should give it a try. It obviously didn’t work for me, but a whole lot of people have read this book and did like it, even loved it. I’ll just try again with another book from KA. I mean they have to be good for all the fuss there is around them!

One of the reviews I really liked on this book was written by Smitten. You should go check it out 🙂

AMAZON.FR                                           AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

