RSS Feed

Beautiful Player (Beautiful Bastard #3), by Christina Lauren

17831614____________________________________________

A bombshell bookworm. A chronic Casanova. And a lesson in chemistry too scandalous for school.

When Hanna Bergstrom receives a lecture from her overprotective brother about neglecting her social life and burying herself in grad school, she’s determined to tackle his implied assignment: get out, make friends, start dating. And who better to turn her into the sultry siren every man wants than her brother’s gorgeous best friend, Will Sumner, venture capitalist and unapologetic playboy?

Will takes risks for a living, but he’s skeptical about this challenge of Hanna’s…until the wild night his innocently seductive pupil tempts him into bed- and teaches him a thing or two about being with a woman he can’t forget. Now that Hanna’s discovered the power of her own sex appeal, it’s up to Will to prove he’s the only man she’ll ever need.
_____________________________________________

Hm the Beautiful Bastards struck once more. And this one is as yummy as his friends.

I truly loved the first two installments of this serie and this one is no exception (even though I still have a little preference for Max and Sara’s story).

829591

…Sorry about that. Moving on!

Will and Hannah were sweet characters that made me smile and laugh and I liked how they got together. I must be in a geeky streak because it’s the second time I read about nerdy heros. Hannah was the nerdy one here even though Will was totally able to argue on nerdy subjects with her. But like the title says, he’s the player here.

Will and Hannah are two long time “friends”. Will was originally friends with Hannah’s brother and is very close to their family and has always been. He’s also a little older than Hannah, which is also why she’s had a huge crush on him since she was sixteen. They find themselves reunited when Hannah’s brother and father ask of her to get a social life outside of the office. And who better than Will to do that?

“I like it when you ask me to come!” he called after me. “I can’t wait to come tonight, Ziggy! Should I come around eight? Or do you want me to come around ten? Maybe I’ll come both times?” 

Like I said, I liked Hannah. Yes she is a bookworm, has close to no social life outside of her office and is a little naïve, but she was a very likable character to me all the same. She was curious, funny, had no filter whatsoever and that’s what made her funny to me and even funnier when she was being coached by Will on how to date. Their discussions in the park often made me laugh too.

 “See, the problem with boobs is if you have big ones, you can never look thin. You get these burns on your shoulders from bra straps, and your back hurts. And unless you’re using them for their intended purpose, they’re always in the way.”
“In the way of what? My hands, My face? Don’t you blaspheme in here.” He looked up to the sky. “She didn’t mean it, Lord. Promise.” 

Will, ah Will. He’s a sweetheart, even though he’s a bit of a man whore at first. When we first meet him, he’s the kind of guy who has a different girl scheduled for the different days of the week. But then he’s a player, so no big surprise there. But he is also sweet and caring and we get to see why he acts the way he does with women and why Hannah changed this. I really liked how his view of Hannah (Ziggy) gradually changed after the got in touch again. At first she’s just his old buddy’s little sister Ziggy but the more they actually talk and spend time together the more he sees her for the woman she has and is becoming.

“I want to figure out what I like.”

As usual, there is plenty of sexual tension and action in this book too. It was different from what we had in Beautiful Bastard and Beautiful Stranger, which were already very different themselves. Some readers might find this book not as….titillating as the others, but there is a nice building tension between Will and Hannah and personally, I’m a sucker for friends turning lovers so I was happy with the book on that regard.

“Do you ever feel like the people who mean the most aren’t the people you see the most? Lately I just feel like I’m not putting my heart where it matters.” 

We also get to see characters from the two previous books and there are some big, big, BIG news delivered about them in this book. I really liked how Bennet and Max made fun of Will for going through what they went through with their own ladies.

“Ben,” Max said, leaning back in his chair with a giant grin. “It’s finally happened.”
I groaned, resting my head on my hand.
“You got your period?” Bennett asked. “Congratulations.”
“No, you twat,” Max said, laughing. “I’m talking about Will. He’s gone arse over tits for a girl.” 

I had a good time reading this installment of the serie. It made me smile, laugh and also swear at the characters’ sometimes stupid decisions, but I was never bored with the book, the story or the characters. It was a light read that I really enjoyed and that left me with a happy feeling and a stupid smile stuck on my face.

This quote is one of my favorites from the book. It made me laugh so hard!

“That’s why I had a reduction when I was twenty-one,” which is when his expression morphed into one of horror.
You’d have thought I told him I made an amazing stew from tiny babies and puppy tongues.
“Why on earth would you do that? That’s like God giving you a beautiful gift and you kicking him in the nuts.”
I laughed. “God? I thought you were agnostic, Professor.”
“I am. But if I could motorboat perfect tits like yours I might be able to find Jesus.” 
I felt my blush warm my cheeks. “Because Jesus totally lives in my cleavage?”
“Not anymore he doesn’t. Your boobs are now too small for him to be comfortable in there.” He shook his head, and I couldn’t stop laughing. “So selfish, Ziggs,” 

AMAZON.FR                                          AMAZON.CO.UK
Leave a Reply

