RSS Feed

The Theory of Attraction (Science of Temptation #1), by Delphine Dryden

13646578____________________________________________

Camilla can set her watch by her hunky rocket-scientist neighbor who jogs past her window each day. She relishes each glimpse of his shirtless abs, and is dying to see more. But it’s hard to connect with a man who doesn’t seem to know she exists…

Ivan feels at home in the lab, not in social situations. When he finally approaches his attractive neighbor, it’s not for a date—he wants tutoring in how to behave at an important fundraiser. Ivan doesn’t expect the chemistry between them to be quite so explosive, and is surprised when Cami actually accepts his proposal to embark on a series of “lessons.”

Cami soon discovers Ivan’s schedule isn’t the only thing he likes to be strict about—he needs to be charge in the bedroom as well. She’s shocked at how much she comes to enjoy her submissive side, but wonders if a real relationship is in the equation…

____________________________________________

Well, that was my first try in geeky heros and I haven’t been disappointed.

Although, my mind must have been in the gutter when I read the blurb and started this story because I was quite surprise to find BDSM in it even though there are words such as “submissive” in the description. 

It was a light, nice read, with no drama. The storyline is quite simple but I enjoyed it anyway and mostly because of the characters.

I very much liked Camilla. She is sweet and funny and has a big crush on her nerdy but oh so hot neighbor Ivan. Her narrative voice was very nice to follow and she cracked me up with her weirdness.

“In the fantasy I spun for myself that night before falling asleep, those deep dark secrets were revealed. That simple touch became a violent embrace, worthy of any bodice-ripper. There were a certain number of gleeful perversions committed on Ivan’s battered leather sofa. And at some point in the fantasy, Ivan was a vampire, because I was sort of weird that way. He was a real, Gothic-style, Bram Stoker sort of vampire who bit people as a metaphor for having dubious-consent, alpha-male sex with them, I should point out. None of your modern, sensitive vampires for me. I appreciated the classics.”

I really liked a character and the dynamic she had with Ivan. She had to explain him thing that would seem obvious and simple to anyone else. Like why it’s rude to say to someone that they are stupid.

tumblr_m9t0uozsLA1rpt3hd

In that regard, Ivan made me think of Sheldon Cooper in some aspects: super intelligent, socially inadequate, arrogant. Only you know, with a sex drive.

tumblr_mcsn4f5srR1rpt3hd

Ivan was nothing like the geeks we have come to know with series such as The Big Bang Theory. Well, maybe nothing is not the right word. He does spent an awful lot of time on computers and arguing about scientific theories with other nerdy guys. But I found him charming in his inadequacy in social situations. The only person he really connects with is Cami and I quite liked their growing relationship.

“Sense memories of you persist and do not seem to abate as the day progresses. It’s disconcerting, Camilla. I don’t like it when my mind plays tricks on me. I would much rather simply have you here in the flesh, to feel and taste and smell with my actual senses. Instead my mind keeps conjuring this false perception of your presence. I think it means I miss you.” 

I mean, it’s a weird way to say “I miss you” to someone, but how cute is that? Or maybe it’s just me.

Ivan also has a very dirty mouth and he knows how and when to use it best. I really liked the flirting part between him and Cami and how they got even closer once they faced the fact that they are hot for each other. 

Like I said, there is BDSM in this book, which includes domination, some light bondage and spanking and other stuff. I wouldn’t categorize this book as BDSM per se because it’s not the story of how Ivan opened Cami’s eyes on her sexuality and how she was a sub all along. The story is mainly about two friends realizing they are and want to be more than just friends for each other.

“The thing is,” Ivan went on, his voice soft and soothing over the counterpoint of the howling wind outside, the insistent thrumming of the rain on the rooftop, “I think this is love. But I’ve never been in love before, either, so I don’t know.” 

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book. I don’t know if I’ll give a change to the two other books in the serie, but I had a good time reading this one and will keep a good memory of it. 

I’ll just add one last quote because it cracked me up when I read it.

“In the National Geographic movie of my twisted mind, the lion had just leaped on the gazelle, pinned it to the ground and mounted it from behind. Apparently, the devouring could wait. I should point out that these little flights of fancy on my part often involved extremely improbable animal pairings. I blamed cartoons.” 

AMAZON.FR                                  AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

