RSS Feed

Sheltered, by Charlotte Stein

13518793____________________________________________

Evie has lived her entire life under her abusive father’s thumb. He controls everything. Where she goes to college, who she sees, what she does. But when she meets Van—a punk who shows her how different life could be—she realizes how much she’s been missing.

Van offers her excitement, protection, love…and most of all, sex—even if he’s at first reluctant to give her all the things she’s been craving. She wants to explore this new world of arousal and desire, but Van is only too aware of how fragile she is, how innocent…

And how much is at stake, when their love is forbidden.

____________________________________________

Well I, for one, really liked this book.

I started it somewhat reluctantly. It had been in my TBR list for quite some time and it felt like a bit of a gamble. You know this kind of book you’re not sure is for you but is intriguing all the same. That how I felt about Sheltered. I think it’s the cover that was holding me back actually. But I was looking for a quick read and I sort of stumbled upon this one. And it turned out to be a very nice book.

The story was compelling and interesting. I liked the writing style and the plot. The cover doesn’t really represents our characters in my opinion. Evie and Van are in college. Evie still lives at home where she has to watch her every move, and Van, well he buys pot from Evie’s neighbor.

I very much liked Evie and Van and the way they connected. Evie, as the title tells us, is very much sheltered. You can hardly find more innocent a person as her. Also, she is very repressed because of her home life.

“There were times, many, many times, when she just didn’t get him. She’d heard on numerous occasions that men were bad, wicked creatures, who’d do terrible things at a moment’s notice. You wore the wrong skirt or bent over at an inopportune time and BAM. They slipped their penises into you.” 

Van, at first, looks like a thug. They basically are complete opposite. But they are intrigued by each other and understand each other better than expected.

Also I didn’t know smoking pot could be so hot 😉

Speaking of hotness, holy smokes this book has plenty of it. You squirm with anticipation as well as when there is actual action going on in the sack. And Van is quite the dirty talker too.

“Ohhh that’s good. Fuck you’re greedy. What do you want, huh? Tell me what you want.” 

This book reminded me of Brother’s Keeper in more than one way.
The characters are sweet and full of surprises, especially Van, that I really liked (even though I liked Evie equally).

So it’s five stars for me. I recommend this book to those who like sizzling romance and characters that are tortured or who are going through difficult times. There is a happy ending too.

Never judge a book by its cover they say. That basically describes this book and its characters.

AMAZON.FR                                       AMAZON.CO.UK

Leave a Reply

