RSS Feed

Red Hill, by Jamie McGuire

17457124

_____________________________________________

When the world ends, can love survive?

For Scarlet, raising her two daughters alone makes fighting for tomorrow an everyday battle. Nathan has a wife, but can’t remember what it’s like to be in love; only his young daughter Zoe makes coming home worthwhile. Miranda’s biggest concern is whether her new VW Bug is big enough to carry her sister and their boyfriends on a weekend escape from college finals.

When reports of a widespread, deadly “outbreak” begin to surface, these ordinary people face extraordinary circumstances and suddenly their fates are intertwined. Recognizing they can’t outrun the danger, Scarlet, Nathan, and Miranda desperately seek shelter at the same secluded ranch, Red Hill. Emotions run high while old and new relationships are tested in the face of a terrifying enemy—an enemy who no longer remembers what it’s like to be human.

Set against the backdrop of a brilliantly realized apocalyptic world, love somehow finds a way to survive. But what happens when the one you’d die for becomes the one who could destroy you?

_____________________________________________

Wow! I think I’m at a loss for words. Which, all things considered, is not convenient right now since I’m gonna try to write a review that does justice to this book. But as is usually the case when I loved a book, it’s probably going to be more blabbering than anything else. So bear with me 😉

And to add to that, I am so book hangovered right now! I finished Red Hill at four in the morning because I couldn’t put it down.
I think it’s my first horror (romance?) fiction and I’m so glad I picked this one to be the first. Jamie McGuire wrote a fantastic story that had me scared, stressed, nervous, hoping ,smiling and on the brink of tears at times.

Here’s a kaleidoscope of how I felt while reading:

465345

741511

6217526

6587787

I might have driven my roommates crazy while reading Red Hill. But this is the perfect example of how this book makes you feel, and if you’re a tiny bit like me, for your own sanity you’ll have to talk it out. But I digress.

The story will grab you from page one until the last and not once will you be bored or skip pages.

“I wasn’t sure how long we could survive, but I knew I wasn’t dying on day one of the fucking zombie apocalypse.”

I got so attached to the characters in such a short amount of time it’s scary. I was right there with every one of them and even though very creepy at times, it was a great feeling and I loved it. Everyone of them reveal themselves as the story goes and you discover great people full of wonders. You’ll feel like part of their family.
I was so sad when something tragic happened to them. And more than once I felt as frustrated, sad and/or angered as the characters were.

This book broke my heart and lifted it too. It was an emotional roller coaster but boy did I enjoy it. I was more than impressed by this book and its author’s talent. If you were hesitating about reading this book, I cannot tell you enough to give it a chance because you won’t be disappointed. That is if you don’t mind reading about the end of the world as we know it of course.

I could repeat myself over and over now to tell you to grab a copy and start reading but I won’t. Hopefully, this review will do it for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

