RSS Feed

Checkmate (Neighbor From Hell #3), by R. L. Mathewson

18776101

_____________________________________________

There’s nothing worse than living next door to your childhood nemesis, except maybe being forced to share your dream project with him, being blackmailed into going along with something that was just wrong on so many levels, and having your hot cocoa stolen by the person that drove you to drink it in the first place.

As long as she has plenty of hot cocoa, a pair of pliers on hand and is able to resist Connor O’Neil’s bad boy charm then Rory James should be able to make it through this project with her sanity intact. If not…..

She’d probably face a few more nights in jail, have a few more restraining orders slapped against her and lose her heart to the man that ruined her life

_____________________________________________

I have to admit that I was expecting a little more from this book, but I still had a good time.

I liked the characters even though Conor got on my nerves once or twice with his “plan”…Thank God that was only temporary.

I think what was missing in this book was the Bradfords. I know, they are still in the book and Rory is related to the family, but I still missed the Bradford’s craziness that I love so much.
Other than that, Rory and Conor’s relationship is kinda cute. Childish, sure, but cute in the love/hate way they act with each other.

“As long as I’m stuck with you on this project and you try to get in my way, anything goes,” she said…
“Is that a fact?” he demanded evenly.
“Yes,” she practically hissed as her eyes narrowed no his.
You’re only here because of my generosity, Rory. Push me and you might just find yourself locked in the trunk of a car and on a ferry headed off to Nova Scotia… again,” he said softly, loving the way she practically shook with rage against him.
“I knew that was you, you bastard!” she snarled…
“You deserved it,” he felt obligated to remind her. 

Rory was a tough cookie, which was great when faced with a character like Connor. She never gave him the satisfaction of “winning”, which I liked a lot, and gave as good as she got. 

Like I said, Connor got to me a little, but being in his head was nice since you figure out quite quickly that he act with Rory like a 5 year old would when he has a huge crush on a girl.

“She’d been the prettiest little girl that he’d ever seen and he just had to push her and pull on her pigtails.” 

Seeing him getting to the point where he realizes that was interesting, cute and funny. You kind of have to laugh at his antics.

“When this project was over, he was keeping her, deal or no deal. She belonged with him…This morning he had a taste of what it could be like between them and he’d have to be out of his fucking mind to give that up.” 

The sex was a nice surprise. Man, was it hot! The first sex scene between them was worth 4% of my kindle. But I guess it figures. I mean, after ten years of accumulated sexual tension, it had to be something memorable!

“Stupid, toe curling kissing bastard” 

Sure the story is not really original and you know what is coming from the start, but sometimes it’s just as good and doesn’t hurt the story in it’s wholeness. If you’re looking for fluff, you are in the right place. It’s a frenemy love story with lots of funny moment as well as sweet ones. The banter is still there, as well as the teasing, which is a little more on the prank side here. The key with this book is to not take it seriously and to let the story take you.

So to conclude, my expectations weren’t really reached but it was a nice read nonetheless.
I don’t know if R. L. Mathewson is going to write another book for this serie, but if it’s the case I really hope the Bradfords men will be a lot more at the center of the story!

“Tell me that you didn’t break the ban, Rory. Tell me that there aren’t two Bradfords beating the shit out of each other over the last slice of cheese in my kitchen,” he pleaded, already knowing and dreading the answer.” 

Leave a Reply

