RSS Feed

The Devil’s Reprise (Devils #2), by Karina Halle

The-Devils-Reprise_cover

_____________________________________________

Given a second chance, music journalist Dawn Emerson and guitarist Sage Knightly are reunited, only to have their lives threatened again by a demonic bargain.

When Dawn Emerson got the chance to go on tour with her favorite metal band, Hybrid, she thought she landed the writing gig of the century. But what started off as a dream for the budding music journalist quickly turned into a nightmare that she and guitarist Sage Knightly barely escaped alive.

Now, months after they went their separate ways, Sage invites Dawn to accompany him on his first solo tour across Europe and write about it for Creem Magazine. But like the last tour, nothing is as easy as it seems. Sage is a broken man on the path to self-destruction and Dawn isn’t sure if she’s the right person to save him. And aside from having to pick up the pieces of their burgeoning relationship, they have to negotiate the mysterious new photographer assigned to Dawn’s story, as well as vindictive promoters and demonic groupies they thought they’d never see again.

Because this time, it’s Dawn who made a deal with the devil and the only thing worse than having to uphold a bargain with the prince of darkness is not remembering how you’re supposed to pay it back.

It may be with their souls.

_____________________________________________

Okay, let’s hope this second review ends up not being too bad.

They say be careful what you wish for….Well isn’t that true!

I was happy to see that there was a sequel to The Devil’s Metal because I definitely didn’t have enough of Dawn and Sage stories with one book. Plus the cliffhanger at the end of The Devil’s Metal kind of had the intended effect on me.

I had a hard time believing what was said at the end if book #1 was true (I blame that on the stubborn romantic that I am) but it had to be. But it ended up being a bit of a problem in the burgeoning relationship between our two protagonists.

Here’s a quick recap from The Devil’s Metal:

“When it comes to life or love, I choose life. I’m here right now, ready to live and love another day. I could never regret that. I’m glad you didn’t love me. You gave me my life by doing so.” 

As it turns out, I ended up hating some of the characters from the moment we meet them in this book as well (after Graham the damn French girl with her stupid red lipstick was just as annoying and aggravating). Thankfully, there were a lot more good characters than annoying ones.

Sage was a little (more) lost in this book than I expected but he’s not a lost cause yet, which was great.

Because I’ve faced my demons. In the flesh. And I’ve won. But it’s the ones inside your head that don’t die.

I loved the moment when Dawn and Sage were able to spell out to each other what they felt and were able to turn a page in their relationship. I also loved Jacob even more in this book and what he did for Dawn and Sage throughout the whole book, but especially close to the end. My heart ached for him and you realize how great his character is and how much he loves Sage and Dawn.

I really liked the way the ending was written. It was original and it felt like you were reading the bio of the characters as if it had been written to honor their lives and the impact it had on other people, just as an actual bio.

Anyway, this story will stay with me for a very long time, as is the case with every good story I read. Thank you Karina for writing those books.

“I fucking love you. I. Love. You. You are my reprise, my encore, my finale. You’re every single note wrapped up in the world’s most beautiful package. My love for you sings, and it’s a song that will never stop playing. It will play through our deaths and beyond that. And this I know.” 

__________________________________________

AMAZON LINKS:

Leave a Reply

