RSS Feed

The Devil’s Metal (Devil’s #1), by Karina Halle

the Devi'ls Metal

_____________________________________________

It’s the summer of 1974 and 21-year old Dawn Emerson has only three things she wants to do: compete one last time in the Ellensburg Rodeo, win back her ex-boyfriend Ryan, and become the best damn music journalist at Central Washington University. But all her plans are left in the dust when she’s contacted by Creem magazine to go on the road with one of her favorite groups, the up-and-coming metal band, Hybrid. 

At first the assignment reads like a dream come true. Not only will Dawn land some much-needed credibility as a female music journalist, but she’ll finally get to experience life from the other side of the stage, and maybe crack the drunken, enigmatic code that is guitarist Sage Knightly. Instead, Dawn finds herself on an aging tour bus filled with ego-maniacs, band politics and a whole lot of sex, drugs and rock n’ roll. When monsters start showing up in dressing rooms and some of Sage’s groupies become increasingly strange and dangerous, Dawn discovers the band is not only going places – they’re going straight to Hell. 

And Dawn has a backstage pass.

_________________________________________

I find myself having a hard time writing reviews for Karina Halle’s books. Which is a shame since I absolutely love them and am steadily becoming addicted to her writing.
So I’m going to try and write one for this serie. Here goes nothing:

I wasn’t expecting the Devils serie to be a prequel/continuity to The Experiment in Terror serie, so that was a (good) surprise since I absolutely love this serie as well.

I really liked Dawn’s character as well as Sage. They were a lot different from Perry and Dex’s characters and I think it has to do with the fact that Karina wrote The Devil’s Metal before the EIT and wrote from something she knew (not the paranormal part anyway…hopefully 😉 )

“It’s dangerous to meet your idols. You’ll always be disappointed.”

We met great characters in this book/serie such as Jacob The Cobb (which I absolutely adored) and we come across some old friends from the EIT as well. We also learn more about the Jacobs, Thin Veil and stuff like that which made the serie even more interesting in and of itself as well as in regard the the EIT.

What is great about Karina’s characters is that they are simply human (well most of them). They have doubts, insecurities, they are flawed and they make mistakes. Quite simply, you can relate to them as people.

“Have you wanted something so badly that you would have done anything to get it?” he mumbled, his muscly back still to me. “Like, the kind of want that leaves you on your knees and asking for someone, anyone, to answer your prayers?”

“I wanted to be someone, someone important. I wanted to be revered, I wanted to be respected, I wanted to be loved. I wanted it all so much that I remember thinking I would do anything for it. I would give anything for it.” 

I usually read books with a lot more smut in them but in her books it never bothers me that the smut is not as present as in other books (rest assured, there is plenty of it in the serie). And there is as well plenty of scary stuff, which is something you’ll like if you are into Karina’s books in general.

“Sage shifted beneath me. I put one of my hands back into his thick hair and left it there, pretending I needed to hold him. It took all my willpower not to start playing with it.

“I guess you don’t do this very often,” I told him, my voice cracking slightly.

I couldn’t see his face but I could feel him smile. “No. Usually my head’s turned the other way around.”

Also, there are connections between those books and the EIT books, those can be read separately without any risks for spoilers.

I loved the atmosphere of the book. All this music going on, the being on tour ambiance plus the 70’s area. So basically, I had a blast reading this book, and the second after that.

One thing that threw me off in the beginning (even though I liked it because it was unexpected and original) was a historical reference to a serial killer that was freaking creepy (I actually had goosebumps when I figured it out) but was brilliant at the same time.

So, in short, if you haven’t read this book yet, do it now. I wasn’t really sure what I was getting into when I picked and started this book and was beyond glad I did because it was totally worth it.

So once again, bravo Karina. Your books are awesome (for lack of a better word at the moment) and keep up the good work! 🙂 We love your style!

____________________________________________

AMAZON LINKS:

Leave a Reply

