RSS Feed

On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street #1), by Samantha Young

Image

___________________________________________________

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul. 

___________________________________________________

Oh….where to begin…?

I am head over heels in love with Braden Carmichael! And with the book!

“Braden, I don’t want anything to happen between us.”
He raised his eyebrow, clearly unconvinced.
“Tell that to your damp knickers, babe.”

Samantha Young is a great writer. On Dublin Street was the first book by her that I was reading and her debut in Adult Fiction and let me tell you that she blew my mind!

From the characters that I loved without exception (OK I didn’t like the Blondes…but who would have?), to the relationship of the main characters and secondary characters, to the emotional stuff Joss and Braden (and Ellie and Adam) were dealing with, to the sex scenes…Oh God! The SEX SCENES!!!!!!!!!

“Gentlemen are gentlemen in bed. They make sure you’re having a good time. I’ll make sure you’re having a good time, and that you’re okay with everything. I just won’t be well mannered about it.”

…Well you get my point.

I loved the book through and through. Joss’s voice is very nice and often very funny. The pace of the novel was perfect, never too slow or too fast.

The banter between her and Braden was hilarious. I often found myself holding my stomach, I was laughing so hard! Those two really cracked me up.

“I would say it was nice to meet you, but I was naked so… it wasn’t.” 

I also really like how Samantha Young describe the surroundings. The city was described in such a way that I totally want to visit Edinburgh (and maybe cross path with my own personal Braden while catching a cab…!)

The Carmichael family and the memories Joss had of her parents were so sweet. It’s the kind of family you love to have around and that make you feel like you belong even though you’re not blood related. They take you under their wing. And the way we get to “meet” and “see” Joss’s parents is very original.

The emotional crisis the characters delt with felt real and authentic. How many times do you read a book and you find yourself rolling your eyes because of the characters make up complicated situations for themselves out of thin air. Here, Joss had real trauma to deal with and even when she was making the situation difficult for the people around her and herself, you could actually understand why she did it.

“Sometimes words aren’t needed for you to know a change has come upon you.”

I could go on and on like this but even then I couldn’t describe with words how great this novel was. I was hooked from the moment I read the first line to the moment I turned the last page of the book!

READ THIS BOOK! READ IT NOW! READ IT!….Am I being too bossy here?

_________________________________________

AMAZON LINKS:

Leave a Reply

