RSS Feed

Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard #1), by Christina Lauren

beautiful bastard

_____________________________________________

An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling.

Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate–and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard.

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative–completely infuriating–creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules–or outright smash them–if it means he can have her. All over the office.

As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other.

_____________________________________________

I read a lot of reviews before I started reading Beautiful Bastard, and some of them were actually harsh about this book. So when I started reading I was kind of expecting something shallow with almost no storyline.

Mainly, what those reviews said was that this book was just a long succession of sexual encounters between Bennett and Chloe. That there was no connection between the two of them, expect maybe for the sexual part. That Bennett was a creeper because of his habit of reaping panties. And that the ending was overly sweet.

“For some sick reason, fighting with this woman always ended with her panties in my pocket.” 

And yes the book has A LOT of sex in it. Angry sex. Office sex. Public sex, ect…But I really liked this book. I loved the banter between the characters. I LOVED the dirty talk. A lot. I absolutely loved the panty-reaping (but I usually love caveman behavior in male characters :))

“I want you to watch. And tomorrow when you’re sore, I want you to remember who did it to you.”

I really liked how Bennett and Chloe got around their hatred for each other. They both had very different personalities and the double narration helped understand them even more. Chloe never took shit from Bennett and put him in his place when needed, and Bennett, even though he acted like a jerk to Chloe never disrespected her and in a way always cared for her.

“If only he would keep his mouth shut, he’d be perfect. A piece of duct tape would do the trick. I had some in my desk that I’d occasionally pull out and fondle, hoping someday I could put it to good use.”

And yes, I get that in some aspects, you might find in the book all the elements that were frowned upon in the reviews, but it never was a problem to me. I enjoyed this book. I read it in one seating. I never got bored. I liked the characters a lot and felt a connection to them and between them.

“you need to give me a chance to fix things when I screw up. You know I’m an ass sometimes.”
“Sometimes?”
Growling, he whispered, “And I tear lingerie.”
I pushed a curl off his forehead, “And hoard it. Don’t forget the creepy hoarding.” 

But now I’m kind of wondering what will Beautiful Stranger be about. I hope it is a companion book because I feel like Bennett and Chloe don’t need a sequel to their story. But I guess you never know.

Leave a Reply

